Intimacy with the Lord – Getting to know Him   3 comments

Who is He and what is He like – this God/Man, Christ Jesus?

He is a man so full of life that it spills out of Him at every moment. (John 1:4) Picture His sparkling eyes and the spring in His walk…His vitality and excitement for all of life itself.  And His joy! (Heb. 1:9)  He has been anointed with the oil of joy and it literally drips from Him.  His hearty laugh and delightful sense of humor are contagious.

Once I was in a meeting where the glory and presence of Jesus were so startlingly near, I knew that if I opened my eyes and looked to my left I would see Him standing there beside me.  I did, and there He was. With my natural eyes I saw Him face to face.  But to my surprise, He was dressed like many of the other men in the meeting.  I was so startled that I covered my face with my hands to keep from laughing.  His reaction was to laugh as well.

“What’s the matter?” He joked. “Didn’t you expect Me to be here?”

I laughed at His joke and thought to myself  “We’re in church. Of course I expected You to be here.  But not dressed like that!”

Answering my thoughts as always, He glanced around in mock seriousness and said to me, “Well, look around. You don’t see anyone else in a long white robe and sandals, do you?”

I have since learned that He is completely comfortable in any culture and able to relate to and interact with all the people He created. He never appears to be stiff or in costume.  He can be just as real wearing African clothing and sitting in the dirt with the men of the village, in a 3 piece suit with the business men on Wall Street or in the regal robes of Heaven.

Here is a man with absolutely no insecurities.  He has nothing to prove and nothing to hide.  He is simply Himself all the time, the perfect expression of His Father. (Heb. 1:3, John 1:1)  Sometimes His range of emotion seems to mirror our own.  But actually it’s quite the opposite. We are the ones created in His image, therefore our emotions came from Him. (Gen. 1:26)

He can also weep as hard as He laughs.  His heart can be broken … for us (Heb. 4:15) and also by us. (Mt. 23:37, Luke 19:41, Hosea 11:1-4, 7,8)

Religion has painted an entirely different picture of Him as extremely reserved and unmoved, never smiling or showing any emotion.  Nothing could be further from the truth.

He is the ultimate lover of people.  It is His mission to bring us back to Him and then deeper into His heart.  His openness and freedom are irresistable. He lives in all the fullness of God and brings that here to make it available to us. (Eph. 3:19)  How could we not love a Man like this?

“This is my beloved, and this is my friend.”   (Song of Solomon 5:16)

3 responses to “Intimacy with the Lord – Getting to know Him

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love this………His is so incredibly amazing..!!His cheekiness…His sense of humor…all of Him!!

  2. This moved my heart…so intimate and sweet! I desire to see Him like this. So neat. 🙂

  3. oh i LOVE!!!

Leave a Reply

