Intimacy with the Lord – Learning to trust Him   1 comment

When things get too complicated – stop.  Just sit down, close your eyes and breathe in the peace of God for a few moments.

Try not to be frustrated in your relationship with Jesus.  This love affair is a journey that is meant to be savored every day and every moment.  Let it unfold like the beauty of a rose.  Don’t be in a hurry for what you think should be happening.  Let Him lead.  He knows that we need direction and specifics from Him.  He designs every experience specifically for each of us, knowing us so intimately because He created us and our distinct personalities.  There are some of us who, if given “the plan”, would leave Him sitting on the love seat alone while we ran off to accomplish it for Him.  He knows this.  And while He does have work for us to share with Him – the relationship is always His primary interest.  Everything flows out of that relationship with Him.  Intimacy produces fruitfulness.

There are others whose primary goal is power.  The motive may even seem right since without power we cannot accomplish what He has sent us to do here.  However, if we have His power but we do not have His heart, that very power will corrupt us.  When we are in that intimate, ongoing love relationship with Him, His love will flow into us and out through us to the people around us.  He will give us the power to love with. The motivation is love. We want to see people healed and delivered and blessed because we love them … because He loves them and died to set them free.

I have found that focusing on problems and constantly rehearsing my needs and reminding Him of my time limits are quite counter-productive.  Yes I do have needs.  Yes I do need to know His will so I can try to do it.  But He knows all of this as well.  What He wants is my heart … not just first but always, daily and moment by moment.  Sometimes it’s a matter of building trust.  We have told Him our needs as He asks us to do.  We’ve assured Him that it is His will we are seeking and not our own.  If the answer is delayed can we still trust and be at rest even if we don’t understand?

I once read a story told by Corrie Ten Boom.  Her father said to her, “Corrie, when we are getting on a train, when do I give you the ticket?”

And she replied, “Just before I get on the train, Father.”

“Yes,” said her father.  “You don’t need it until you step onto the train.  Then you don’t have to worry about it and you won’t lose it.  I take care of it and make it easier for you.”

This does not cancel out the Lord’s instructions to ask and keep on asking … to press in to what He has promised.  Sometimes He will ask you to do that, to even be part of the answer.  Other times He will require your trust and rest.  Once again, this is a relationship not a formula or a list of rules. Human nature would usually prefer a formula than having to deal with God in person. (Ex. 20:18,19)  But our spirits cry out for the living God face to face. (Ex. 33:11, Ps. 42:2)  In this place we are close enough to hear Him whisper and we will find He doesn’t usually do things the same way twice.

There are times when the Lord will give us a bigger picture of our assignment here.  But sometimes that’s on a need-to-know basis.  I like a good heart-pounding, white-knuckle, secret agent movie.  And because the Lord often speaks to me through movies, one day He said to me, “Did you notice how little information the agent actually had to go on?”  That got my attention and I listened closely to what He was saying.

“He was only given the briefest details about his assignment and given a choice to take it or not. This was for the safety of the mission so that If he was caught, he would not have valuable information for the enemy to try to gain from him.  All he could see was his small part in a very large espionage plan.  It was also very dangerous. Most of the time it wasn’t even clear who to trust – who was on the side of the enemy and who was not. He just had to completely trust the wisdom and guidance of the one who sent him while drawing from the discernment of the intense training he had already completed.”

From the tone of His voice now I could hear Him smiling.  “Do you know how much I love you?  Can you believe that I have your best interest at heart as well as My own Kingdom plan?  I’m doing many things behind the scenes that you do not see. Will you just trust me, My love?”

Slowly my white knuckles began to relax and my heart rate slowed. “OK Jesus,” I breathed.  “Just hand me the ticket as I get on the train … with You.”

One response to “Intimacy with the Lord – Learning to trust Him

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow. Just what I needed to hear. 🙂 Thank you so much for this, God bless you!

Leave a Reply

