Prophetic Intercession 1   Leave a comment

Because of our intimacy with the Lord we have access into His heart.  He begins to share things with us that we could not have seen before.

It was the time of the last Olympics in Vancouver, British Columbia.  Since we lived near there, our city had offered our large recreation complex to the athletes for practice several days a week, even advertising their schedules and inviting the public to watch.

In a room above the ice rink about one hundred of us crowded near the large window to watch the figure skaters from several different countries.  During the first time period they were all on the ice together and I enjoyed watching the international warm-up session.  Next came the time for each pair of skaters to do their routine.  The atmosphere in the room began to change.

The Russians were first.  The warm-up jackets came off and the bright red and black costumes stood out starkly against the ice.  Then the music started … the epic, classical tragic music of Russia.  It was like a knife stabbing my heart and with a shock I realized there were tears streaming down my face that I could not prevent.  For a moment all I could do was cry as I watched the drama of a land and a people crying out for deliverance from generations of bondage.  I began to feel God’s heart for them.

Suddenly I realized the opportunity the Lord was providing me.  Here were the top, choice representatives in sports from many nations right here in my home town and I was close enough to see their faces!  I could not go there but He had sent them to me.  Listening for the Lord’s heart for them now, I began to pray as if I was down on the ice laying my hands on them.  Through my tears I silently prayed that God would reveal Himself to them so clearly and that they would respond to His love.  I prayed for their families, their future children and  their nation as they danced out their history before me.

This is only a very small and low level experience on the ladder of intercession.  Prophetic intercession in its basic form is simply being willing to hear what is in God’s  heart and pray or act on what He shows us.  Sometimes He asks us to partner with Him in bringing healing, salvation or freedom to the captives.  Many have had experiences of being taken away in the Spirit to different locations in the earth realm to pray and actually help people there.

In the next post I will continue this subject and move deeper into it.  But for now, allow the Lord to show you once again … there are no limits in Him.  In the Spirit you can fly!

Scripture references: Isa. 40:31, 2 Cor.12:2-4, Rev. 4:1,2, Acts 8:38-40, 1 Thes.5:17, James 5:16

Leave a Reply

